Curriculum Coverage

The values underpinning everything we do in school are:


We also promote 'British Values', which are defined by the government as democracythe rule of lawindividual libertymutual respect and tolerance  of different faiths and beliefs.  

The curriculum at Crown Wood Primary School strives to promote the highest achievement by all pupils through a purposeful context, a 'hands on', experiential and creative approach.  The aims of our school curriculum are:

  • To enable all children to learn and develop their skills to the best of their ability;
  • To promote a positive attitude towards learning, so that children enjoy coming to school, and acquire a solid basis for lifelong learning;
  • To teach children the basic skills of English, mathematics and computing;
  • To enable children to be creative and to develop their own thinking;
  • To teach children about their developing world, including how their environment and society have changed over time;
  • To enable children to be positive citizens in society;
  • To teach children to have an awareness of their own spiritual development, and to understand right from wrong;
  • To help children understand the importance of truth and fairness, so that they grow up committed to equal opportunities for all;
  • To enable children to have respect for themselves and high self-esteem, and to be able to live and work co-operatively with others.

We plan our curriculum in topics to create cross-curricular links which extend children’s learning.  We plan exciting lessons that will motivate the children to learn and provide experiences for them to remember.  

Every classroom has an interactive whiteboard and we have an ICT & Computing Suite and a bank of notebook computers and laptops that are used throughout the school.

Children’s learning is celebrated in many ways, including through stimulating and varied displays and showcase events to which parents are invited.. 

For reading, we use a wide range of books, but have 'Bug Club' as our core scheme.   Phonics is taught daily up to Year 3, using the Read, Write, Inc scheme..

The Early Years / Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum

The school uses the International Early Years Curriculum (IEYC), which is linked to 'Development Matters'.  You can find out more about the IEYC here.  Topics are planned based on the children's interests and change from year to year.  For further, up to date, information, please see your child's Year Group Page.

The National Curriculum

At Key Stages 1 and 2 all children at the school study the following subjects as part of the National Curriculum:

  • Literacy (English – reading, writing and speaking & listening)
  • Numeracy (Mathematics)
  • Computing
  • Science
  • Design Technology (including food technology)
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art and Design
  • Music
  • Physical Education (PE)
  • Religious Education (RE)
  • Modern Foreign Languages (MFL)

English and Mathematics

The majority of the children’s time in school is spent learning English and Mathematics.  There are daily Numeracy and Literacy lessons, the latter supplemented by individual and group guided reading, phonics (in EYFS and KS1) and Handwriting (in KS1).

English units of work include reading; spelling; punctuation; grammar; speaking and listening and narrative and non-fiction writing.  The context for Literacy lessons is often the term’s topic or theme and this provides a purpose for writing and opportunities for the children to apply their skills across the curriculum.

The Mathematics curriculum includes regular oral and mental work, followed by the teaching of different strategies for solving problems, and children are given the opportunity to explain their methods and reasoning. Pupils are given clear instructions and questioned to ascertain their understanding; they may also spend time working together in groups or in pairs.  There is a great emphasis on oral and mental work.  Children have the opportunity to apply their numeracy skills across the curriculum.

Overviews of our English and Maths curriculums can be found here:

English Curriculum

Mathematics Curriculum

The International Primary Curriculum (IPC)

Most non-core (or foundation) subjects are taught as thematic units through the IPC.  Through its ‘personal learning goals’, the IPC provides opportunities for children to develop, experience and practise the qualities and attitudes they will find essential in the 21st century. There are eight IPC ‘personal learning goals’ - enquiry, resilience, morality, communication, thoughtfulness, cooperation, respect and adaptability.

There are typically 6-8 thematic units each year, lasting between 3 and 6 weeks.  Each unit follows the same process (see diagram) and ends with an ‘Exit Point’.  This is an opportunity for the children to show and talk about their work in a variety of ways – to both peers and to their parents. 

Physical Education (PE), Religious Education (RE) and some aspects of Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE) sit outside the IPC and will continue to be taught as now, using existing schemes.

There are opportunities to apply English and Mathematics skills.  Most subjects are taught in blocks.  For further, up to date, information about the themes covers, please go here or to your child's Year Group Page